Guide

AI form-check and rep-counting apps in 2026: what each one actually does.

There are now a dozen iPhone apps that point a camera at you and promise to count your reps or check your form. They are not all the same thing. Some watch you live and talk; some grade a video afterwards; some only judge squat depth. This is a plain account of what each one does, from its own listing and the reviews we could find, so you can pick the right kind before you pick a brand.

How this was put together, so you can weigh it: we read every App Store listing, help page and independent review we could find in October 2026 and quote what they say. We did not run the same sets through every app, and prices are what the listings showed that week; they change. We make one of these apps, and we say so plainly where it comes up. Corrections to [email protected].

First, the three kinds

The apps, side by side

AppKindWhat the listing says it doesMovementsVideoPrice (as listed, Oct 2026)
Loopform AI (ours, in beta)Live coachCounts reps and says what it sees out loud mid-set; builds an adapting weekly plan; logs food by voice and photo; a coach you can talk to between sets.Six core patterns tuned on real sessions, 45 more marked camera beta.Stays on the phone unless you share a clip.Rep counting and cues free; the coach by subscription, price shown in the app. iPhone now, Android in January.
Skeletal PTLive coachReal-time pose detection that counts reps and checks back rounding, knee cave, depth and tempo; a rep only counts when form meets the standard; a 60-second form check that scores squats and deadlifts out of 100; voice coaching listed as a paid feature.Listing claims more than 500 exercises.Not stated in what we read.Free manual tracking; AI camera, overlays, clips and voice are in-app purchases, amounts not shown in the listing.
Form Coach (All Things AI)Live, on screenLive skeleton that turns green, yellow or orange, a form score per rep, session replay and weekly form reports. No accounts, no cloud, no network calls at all, by its own description.About 38 bodyweight exercises.Entirely on the phone.Free, no subscription.
ReploLive counterCounts push-ups, squats, sit-ups, jumping jacks and pull-ups from the camera, with a consistency score for how steady the reps were.Those five bodyweight movements.Processed locally, per the listing.Free with in-app purchases, amounts not shown.
SquatEyeAfter the factYou pick a squat video or photo from your camera roll; it finds hip crease and knee and gives Pass, Fail or Borderline against the powerlifting depth standard, with a margin, for every rep in the clip.Squat depth only.Your saved video; not stated whether it leaves the phone.Free to try; Pro listed at $9.99 a month in one place and $4.99 in another.
Zing (Zing Vision)Plan app with a camera featureAI-generated plans and workouts, with a camera feature that tracks movement in real time and gives technique insights. One independent review calls the accuracy inconsistent.Not stated per movement.Not stated in what we read.Premium around $18.99 a month in an April 2026 snapshot; unclear whether the camera feature is inside Premium.

There is also a growing cluster of single-lift graders, sold one movement at a time: a deadlift checker, a squat checker, a barbell-path scorer. They work the SquatEye way, on a video you already filmed, and the honest ones say so. And there is Kemtai, a computer-vision coach that one roundup rates best for home workouts in 2026; it is built for guided sessions rather than for your own lifting, which is a different job.

The ones that are gone

Camera coaching has a graveyard, and it is worth knowing why. Peloton Guide, a camera box for the TV, was discontinued in 2025. Flex AI, a camera-based personal-training app, shut down in March 2026, with its founders saying the economics were almost impossible to win. Onyx, one of the first camera form apps, was discontinued earlier. The pattern is the same each time: hardware, or a server doing the vision work for every user, and a price that couldn't carry it. Every app in the table above runs the camera work on the phone; that is not an accident.

How to choose

Questions to ask any of them

Sources

Rep counting and form cues are free, with or without a subscription. Video never leaves your phone unless you share a clip. Android arrives in January.